OGRE KINGDOMS Official Update Version 1.2
Although we strive to ensure that our army books are perfect, sometimes mistakes do creep in. In addition, we occasionally print new versions of our rules, that require amendments to be made in older versions of our army books. When such issues arise we feel that it is important to deal with them as promptly as we can, and we therefore produce regular updates for all of our army books. When changes are made, the version number will be updated, and any changes from the previous version will be highlighted in Magenta. Where a version number has a letter,, E.g. 1.1a, this means it has had a local update, only in letter that language, to clarify a translation issue or other minor correction.
carries a magic banner cannot have any other magic items.
Each update is split into three sections: Errata, Amendments, and ‘Frequently Asked Questions’. The Errata corrects any mistakes in the book, while the Amendments bring the book up to date with the latest version of the rules. The Frequently Frequently Asked Questions (or ‘F ‘FAQ’) AQ’) section answers commonly asked questions about the rules. Although you can mark corrections directly in your army book, this is by no means necessary – just keep a copy of the update with your army book.
Unit Strength Ignore all references to unit strength.
Page 29 – Ogre Ironfist Ignore the second sentence.
Page 23 – Bruisers Change the BS of the Bruiser “3”. Page 25 – Tooth-Gnoblars, second paragraph. Change both references to “casting value” to “casting result”. Page 41 – Slavegiants, Throttle With Chain Add “The Giant must nominate one enemy model for this attack.” at start. Page 62 – Thundermace Add “Tyrant only.” at start. Page 64 – Skullmantle Change the end of the final sentence to “[...] suffers a -1 penalty to their Leadership test.” Page 69 – Heroes, *Army Battle Standard Ignore the second and third sentences in the first paragraph. Change the second paragraph to “ The Battle Standard Bearer can have any magic banner (no points limit). A model who 1
WARHAMMER ARMIES: OGRE KINGDOMS
AMENDMENTS Troop Type Note that older versions of our army books do not list the Troop Type for each model. If this is the case with your army book, then you can find the model's Troop Type in the reference section at the back of the Warhammer rulebook. Page 66-67 – Army List entry Ignore this page and use the rules for 'Choosing Your Your Army' in the Warhammer rulebook.
Dogs of War Ignore all references to Dogs of War. Page 16 – Notes Ignore the last paragraph.
Page 35 – Yhetees “Scale Terrain” Change the last three sentences to “Yhetees treat all terrain as open terrain for the purposes of movement. They may not finish their movement inside impassable terrain - though they can pass through obstructions of this kind, they cannot linger.” Page 39 – Maneaters, Brace of Handguns profile Add “Extra Attack, Quick To To Fire”. Ignore “Pistol” and the last sentence in the paragraph after the profile. Page 43 – Gnoblar Trappers, Entourage Ignore “[...], as if he were the army General.” in the first sentence. Page 60 – Gut Magic, Casting Gut Magic Change the third paragraph to “Butchers and Slaughtermasters channel and cast spells in the normal manner. manner. A Butcher counts as a Level 2 Wizard, and a Slaughtermaster as a Level 4 Wizard.” Ignore the fifth paragraph.
Page 62 – Common Magic Items. Note that if a magic item is listed in both an army book and the Warhammer rulebook, use the points value given in the army book, with the rule printed in the Warhammer rulebook. Page 63 – Greatskull Change the second sentence to ‘“Any spellcaster that targets the character with the Greatskull, or the unit he is with, will have to roll on the miscast table on any roll of a double 1 or double 2, as well as double 6. Note that only double 6s cause irresistible force.” Page 63 – Hellheart Change the second sentence to “For the remainder of the phase, any Casting roll that includes a double will result in a miscast. Note that only double 6s cause irresistible force.’ Page 64 – Greyback Pelt Change the first sentence to “A character with the Greyback Pelt (and any Sabretusks that accompany that character) have the Strider special rule.” Page 68 – Lords Ignore the second paragraph in the sidebar. Page 69 – Heroes Ignore the second paragraph in the sidebar. Add “In games of 500 points or less you are allowed to take a single Hero (with any options he is allowed to take), even though his points value will exceed the 25% point allowance for characters. However, your army may not include any other characters.” Page 70 – Core Units Ignore the second and third paragraphs in the sidebar. Page 72 – Special Units Ignore the second paragraph in the sidebar. Page 74 – Rare Units Ignore the second and third paragraphs in the sidebar. Page 78 – Greasus Goldtooth, fifth paragraph Ignore “[...] he takes up an additional Lord choice – [...]
FAQs Q. The Brutish Hordes special rules state that wounds are not carried over. Does this also apply to excess wounds that would normally be applied to the unit champion? (p16) A. No. Q. May units of Ogres in other army books utilize the Bull Charge rule? (p16) A. No.
Q. May Sabretusks be released by a Hunter during the Remaining Moves phase? Or must they accompany the Hunter until he releases them for a charge? (p27) A. They must accompany him until he releases them for a charge or when they are released to pursue a fleeing unit. Q. Can a Hunter move and fire with a Harpoon Launcher ? (p27) A. No. Q. Do all of the rules that apply to firing a bolt thrower apply to the Harpoon Launcher ? (p27) A. Yes. Q. When a unit of Ogre Bulls is equipped with hand weapons and Ironfists, do they retain their Ogre Clubs? (p29) A. Yes. Q. Can Ironfists be used as a shield against ranged attacks? (p29) A. No. Q. Does the Aura of Frost affect friendly models that the Yhetee may be in base to base contact with? (p35) A. Yes, but not other Yhetees. Q. As Yhetees carry an Ice Weapon in each hand, do they receive +1 attack for being equipped with an additional hand weapon? (p35) A. No. Q. If a Maneater unit includes models with a mix of weapons, is each Maneater allowed to utilize a different weapon? (p39) A. Yes. Q. If yes, are all Maneaters treated as champions in the respect that attacks must be specifically allocated at them and wounds do not carry over onto other models in the unit? (p39) A. No. Q. If a Slavegiant ‘Hurls’ a non-character model and it survives, what happens? (p41) A. Put the model back into his original unit. Q. What happens if two opposing Giants both roll Yell and Bawl? (p41) A. The combat is a draw. Q. Do the wounds inflicted on a unit struck by a ‘hurled’ model count towards the Slavegiant’s combat resolution? (p41) A. Yes, even though these wounds may be caused to another unit the damage caused by the Slavegiant won’t have gone unnoticed by its enemies! Note that if the unit struck by the hurled model is in a seperate combat then any wounds caused won’t count towards that combat’s result.
WARHAMMER ARMIES: OGRE KINGDOMS
Q. If a Slavegiant ‘Squashes’ or ‘Eats’ a model, how many wounds have been inflicted for working out the combat result? (p41) A. As many wounds as the model had on its profile.
Q. Can a Tyrant, Bruiser, or Hunter equipped with heavy or light armour also wear the Bullgut or Gut Maw? (p63) A. Yes.
Q. Should the Gnoblar Scraplauncher have the L argely Insignificant rule? (p45) A. No .
Q. Why does the Hunter have “Bull Charge” listed as a special rule in his profile? (p69) A. Simply for completeness.
Q. Is a Gnoblar Scraplauncher counted as “Greenskinned” for purposes of hatred, etc.? (p45) A. Yes it is.
Q. The rules for Skrag the Slaughterer state that Skrag must be accompanied by at least 2 Gorgers. Does Skrag form a unit with these Gorgers? (p76) A. No, they do not form a unit. The Gorgers deploy separately using their own rules.
Q. Special rules apply if a Gut Magic spell has been successfully cast. What exactly does “successfully cast” mean in this context? (p60) A. It means the casting value was met and the spell was not dispelled. Q. When a Butcher attempts to cast the Bonecruncher, Toothcracker or Trollguts spell, does he still suffer the negative effects if the spell is dispelled by the enemy? (p60) A. No. Q. An opponent may dispel a Gut Magic spell in his own magic phase as though it was a Remains in Play spell cast with a Power level of 7. Can an opponent use excess dispel dice to attempt to dispel Gut Magic spells in play at the end of the Ogre Kingdoms player's subsequent magic phases? If yes, are the Gut Magic spells treatd as Remains in Play spells cast with a Power level of 7? (p60) A. Yes to all questions. Q. Do magic items (or abilities) that destroy spells affect Gut Magic spells? (p60) A. Yes, they affect Gut Magic spells - though they would only affect the Butcher targeted by that effect. Q. If a Butcher is killed, are all the Gut Magic spells he has in play removed? (p60) A. Yes. Q. Does the Greedy Fist eat the magical properties of magic close combat weapons on a successful ward save? (p63) A. Yes. Q. If an enemy Wizard suffers a miscast from the Hellheart and subsequently rolls a “1” on the Gut Magic Miscast Table, what happens? (p63) A. The enemy Wizard is destroyed, and all Butchers take D3 wounds. Q. Can Wizards that are not required to roll on Miscast tables ignore the effects of the Hellheart? If they are allowed to re-roll the result can they? (p63) A. Yes to both questions.
WARHAMMER ARMIES: OGRE KINGDOMS
Last updated 15thSeptember 2010