Magic the Gathering Comprehensive Rules Quiz! 1. When a Planeswalker’s Loyalty is 0, what happens? a. It is removed from the game. b. It is put into the graveyard. c. It is reshuffled into the library d. It goes back into its owner’s hand. 2. Planeswalkers can block an attacking creature. True False 3. Bob has a planeswalker with a current loyalty of 3 and a 1/1 elf. Tom attacks Bob’s planeswalker with a 5/5 trample creature.
Bob blocks with the elf.
What happens? a.
Bob’s elf dies, and the planeswalker takes no trample damage.
b.
Bob’s elf dies and 4 trample damage hits the planeswalker, which also dies. Trample stops there.
c.
Bob’s elf dies, the planeswalker takes 3 damage and dies, and the remaining 1 damage tramples over and hits Bob himself.
4. Planeswalkers can be countered. True
False
5. Bob has a planeswalker with 2 loyalty and a 3/3 creature in play. attacks Bob’s planeswalker with a 5/5 trample creature.
Tom
Bob uses
Boomerang to return the planeswalker to his hand and then blocks with the 3/3. What happens? a.
Bob isn’t allowed to return a planeswalker to his hand so this is an illegal play.
b. Bob’s 3/3 creature dies and since the planeswalker is no longer there, Bob himself must take the remaining 2 trample damage. c.
Bob’s 3/3 creature dies and the remaining 2 damage does nothing because the planeswalker is gone.
d. Both Bob’s 3/3 and his planeswalker die because the damage has already been dealt before the Boomerang effect happens.
6. You may use a planeswalker’s ability the same turn you cast the planeswalker. True
False
7. Incinerate reads “Incinerate deals 3 damage to target creature or player.” A planeswalker is neither a creature nor a player.
Can you damage the
planeswalker with the Incinerate? Yes
No
8. Pestilence reads “Pay 1 Black: Pestilence deals 1 damage to each creature and player.”
If your opponent controls a planeswalker, and you activate
Pestilence’s ability, what happens? a.
You, your opponent and the planeswalker all take damage.
b. Only you and your opponent take damage. c.
You and either your opponent or the planeswalker take damage, your opponent chooses which
d. You and either your opponent or the planeswalker take damage, you choose which. 9. Two planeswalkers of the same name may be in play at the same time True
False
10. Bob has an enchantment in play that reads “All creatures have flying.” Then Tom plays an enchantment that says “All creatures lose flying.”
What
happens? a.
All creatures lose flying because negative cards take precedence.
b. Tom’s card is the most recently played so all creatures lose flying. c.
Bob’s card was in play first so all creatures still have flying.
d. The two cards cancel each other out so it’s as if neither is in play. 11. Bob has a card that reads “Whenever you take damage, you may deal an equal amount of damage to target opponent.” Then Bob intentionally mana burns himself for 5. He may now deal 5 damage to his opponent. True
False
12. Bob’s 5/5 trample creature attacks Tom, and Tom blocks with a 5/5 creature.
Before combat damage is assigned, Tom uses Boomerang (see #5) to return his blocker to his hand. What happens? a.
Tom’s 5/5 dies because it cannot be returned to his hand in mid-combat.
b. Bob’s creature is technically blocked, but since there is no creature to assign damage to, all of it goes to Tom. c.
Bob’s creature is blocked and since all the damage would have been absorbed by the other 5/5 creature (even though it’s not there anymore) it deals no damage.
13. Bob has a Wall of Glare ( 0/5, Wall of Glare can block any number of creatures.)
Tom has three 3/3 trample creatures, and one 2/2 normal
creature and attacks with all of them. Bob decides to block all of them with Wall of Glare. What happens? a.
All of the creatures are totally blocked because trample creatures must individually try to deal lethal damage to a creature before trampling over. Bob takes no damage but the Wall of Glare dies.
b. The 2/2 deals its damage to the wall as normal and then the trample creatures must deal 5 points of damage in order to trample over, and Bob himself takes 4 points of trample. c.
The 2/2 and 3 points of trample damage hit the Wall, which is enough to kill it, and the remaining 6 points hits Bob.
14. Bob has a 5/5 green trample creature. Tom has a 2/2 black creature with protection from green. If Bob attacks and Tom blocks, Bob’s creature can’t kill Tom’s creature, therefore it can’t assign lethal damage and trample over, dealing 3 points to Tom. True
False
15. Terror reads “Destroy target non-black non-artifact creature, it can’t be regenerated.” You may play terror even if there are no creatures to target, just to get it out of your hand. True
False
16. Bob has a 3/3 creature. He plays Blood Lust which reads “Target creature gets +4/-4 until end of turn. If the creature’s toughness would be reduced to 0 or less, it becomes 1 instead.” In response, Tom plays an instant that
says “Target creature gets -2/-2 until end of turn.” on Bob’s creature. What happens? a.
The creature becomes a 1/1 temporarily, then a 5/1.
b. The creature becomes a 5/1 instantly. c.
The creature becomes a 7/1 temporarily, then a 5/0 (and dies).
d. The creature becomes a 5/0 instantly and dies. 17. Bob has a creature that says “When you have 0 cards in your hand, sacrifice this creature.” Tom plays a card that says “All players discard their hand and draw 7 new cards.” What happens when Tom’s card finishes resolving? a.
Bob’s creature is still alive because triggered abilities can only happen when someone has priority (e.g. not in the middle of an effect).
b. Bob’s creature is still alive because he has 7 cards in his hand. c.
Bob’s creature dies because he had 0 cards for a moment during the resolution of Tom’s spell.
18. Bob has an enchantment that says “When a creature attacks you, destroy it at the end of turn.”
Tom has an enchantment that reads, “Pay 2: This
enchantment becomes a 2/2 creature until end of turn.” Tom activates the ability and attacks Bob for 2, which hits.
At the end of the turn, what
happens? a.
The creature is technically an enchantment, so Bob’s card has no effect on it.
b. The creature triggers Bob’s card’s ability, but it turns back into an enchantment before it can be affected by it. c.
The creature/enchantment will be destroyed because it triggered the ability, and it doesn’t matter if it’s a creature or an enchantment now.
d. The creature/enchantment is destroyed because Bob’s card takes effect before it can change back into an enchantment. 19. It is Bob’s turn. Both Bob and Tom have three creatures each with various abilities. Bob plays a card that says “Each player chooses and sacrifices a creature.”
Bob could be at an advantage or disadvantage depending on
which creatures they sacrifice, so he wants to wait and see which card Tom sacrifices before making his decision. Can he do this? a.
Yes, he can. It’s his turn so he can pass priority to Tom and wait to see
what happens before making his choice. b. Yes, he can. All he has to do is wait and see. There is no solid rule for this. c.
No, he can’t. Both players must find a way to hide their decision, yet make it clear. (such as turning the cards up-side down)
d. No, he can’t. The active player must chose first, and Tom may see what Bob sacrifices before he makes his decision. 20. Tom and Bob are both at 20 life. It’s Tom’s turn. creature and two enchantments.
He controls one 1/1
One reads, “Whenever a creature dies,
this enchantment deals 1 damage to all creatures and players.” The other reads, “Whenever a creature dies, you gain 1 life.”
Bob controls one
enchantment which reads “When a creature dies, this enchantment becomes a 1/1 creature.” Bob uses Terror on Tom’s creature, killing it and triggering all 3 abilities. What will be the outcome? a.
Tom will be at 20, Bob will be at 19 and he will have a 1/1 creature.
b. Tom will be at 20, Bob will be at 18 and his 1/1 creature will be dead. c.
Tom will be at 20, Bob will be at 19 and his 1/1 creature will be dead.
d. Tom will be at 20, Bob will be at 18 and he will have a 1/1 creature. 21. Bob has a 2/2 creature and attacks Tom with it. Tom uses an instant that reads: “Target creature gets -4/-0 till end of turn.”
Later that turn, Bob
enchants his creature with Feast of the Unicorn (+4/+0). What happened? a.
Tom gained 2 life and now the creature is a 4/2, it will be a 6/2 next turn.
b. Tom took no damage and now the creature is a 4/2, it will be a 6/2 next turn. c.
Tom gained 2 life and now the creature is a 2/2, it will be a 6/2 next turn.
d. Tome took no damage and now the creature is a 2/2, it will be a 6/2 next turn. 22. Bob and Tom are both at 3 life. Bob casts Incinerate on Tom for 3 damage. In response, Tom casts the same spell, Incinerate at Bob for 3 damage. What happens? a.
Tom’s incinerate hits Bob first, Bob dies and the game immediately ends. Tom wins.
b. Tom’s Incinerate hits Bob, killing him, then the Incinerate that’s still on
the stack goes off, killing Tom too. The game is a draw. c.
Tom’s Incinerate hits Bob, killing him, then Bob’s Incinerate on the stack is removed from the game along with his other cards, leaving Tom alive to win. (In other words the game doesn’t immediately end, it ends when everything on the stack finishes resolving, minus the things that were created by the player who lost.)
23. Bob, Tom, and Jeff are playing multiplayer. Jeff gains control of Tom’s 2/2 creature with a Control Magic enchantment-aura.
Then Jeff uses Bribery,
which reads “Search target opponent’s library for a creature card and put it into play under your control” on Bob, and takes a 4/4 creature. Finally, he uses a Ray of Command which reads “Untap target creature and gain control of it until end of turn. It has haste” on one of Tom’s 3/3 creatures. Getting fed up with Jeff, Tom uses two Incinerates on Jeff to kill him. What happens next? a.
All three creatures Jeff stole are destroyed and go in their owner’s graveyard.
b. The 4/4 creature comes under Bob’s control, and the other two creatures come back under Tom’s control. c.
The 4/4 creature is removed from the game since there was no on-going effect giving Jeff control of it, and the other two creatures go back to Tom.
d. The 4/4 creature returns to Bob because there was no ongoing control effect to destroy, whereas the other two creatures are destroyed along with the effect. e.
The 3/3 creature dies because its effects only last until the end of the turn.
The other two creatures return to Bob and Tom’s control
appropriately. 24. Bob, Tom and Jeff are in multiplayer.
Everyone is at 3 life.
Bob casts
Earthquake which reads “each creature without flying and each player take X damage” and chooses X to be 3, in order to make the game a draw. Tom responds to the Earthquake with Incinerate on Bob. Finally, Jeff responds to Tom’s Incinerate with an Incinerate on Tom. What happened? a.
Everyone dies, but Tom dies first, the game is a draw.
b. Bob and Tom both die, Jeff wins.
c.
Everyone dies simultaneously, the game is a draw.
d. Bob dies, Tom and Jeff continue playing. 25. Bob, Tom and Jeff are playing.
Tom has an enchantment out that reads
“whenever any player plays a spell, that player may put a 1/1 creature token into play under his control.”
Over the course of the game, all 3
players have made several tokens, when suddenly Jeff uses a Fireball on Tom and kills him. What happens? a.
All the tokens Tom had are destroyed. All the tokens Bob and Jeff had remain.
b. All the tokens created by Tom’s enchantment are destroyed, no matter whose they were. c.
All the tokens survive, and the ones Tom had are divided up between Bob and Jeff, (any remainder is destroyed.)
26. Which of the following is NOT a characteristic-defining ability? a.
“Flying”
b. “This creature’s power and toughness are both equal to the number of creatures in your graveyard” c.
“This creature is red”
d. “This creature is all creature types” 27. Bob has three creatures in his graveyard, two 1/1s and a Lhurgoyf which says “this creature’s power is equal to the number of creatures in all graveyards, and its toughness is equal to that number +1” Tom has two creatures in his graveyard. Bob has a spell that says “return target creature card with power 4 or less from your graveyard to play” in his hand. Can he use this spell to bring the Lhurgoyf back to play? a.
Yes, when Lhurgoyf comes into play, it will be a 4/5 creature, as there will be 4 creatures total remaining in all graveyards, thus it is legal.
b. No, the Lhurgoyf is a 5/6 creature while it is in the graveyard because it includes itself in its calculation. It’s an illegal target. c.
Yes, Lhurgoyf’s power/toughness ability doesn’t function while in the graveyard, so it’s technically an X/X+1 creature and can be targeted.
d. No, Lhurgoyf’s power/toughness ability doesn’t function while in the graveyard, so it’s technically an X/X+1 creature, and the spell can’t
check to see if it’s a legal target or not, therefore it’s not. 28. Tom has five Plains, three white creatures, one white enchantment, and an artifact that says “tap: add one white mana to your mana pool.” How many white permanents does Tom have? a.
1
b. 3 c.
4
d. 5 e.
9
f.
10
29. Jeff has a 0/1 Kobold creature that has a 0 casting cost. The border of the card is red.
Bob has an instant that says “destroy target blue or black
creature.” Can Bob use the card to kill the Kobold? a.
It’s red due to the border, so no he can’t.
b. It’s undefined so he can. c.
There’s insufficient data, so we can’t know.
30. Bob is at 5 life. He has a Platinum Angel in play which reads “You cannot lose the game, your opponents cannot win the game”.
He has a
Yawgmoth’s Bargain in play which reads “Skip your draw step. Pay 1 life: Draw a card.” Can Bob spend 10 life and draw 10 cards? a.
No he can’t, he’s only got 5 life to spend, so he can draw a maximum of 5 cards.
b. Yes he can, he can’t lose the game, so he may use Yawgmoth’s Bargain as much as he wants. He will be at a negative life total, but alive. c.
Yes he can, no matter how much he draws, he can’t go below 0 life.
31. Tom is at 4 life and has a Nefarious Lich in play which reads “if you would gain life, draw that many cards instead.” He then plays Blessed Wind which reads “target player’s life becomes 20.” What will happen? a.
Tom’s life will become 20 and he will not draw any cards because he didn’t gain any life, his life total just simply became 20.
b. Blessed Wind will try to give him 16 life, but that will be replaced by drawing 16 cards instead. Tom is still at 4 life.
c.
Tom will gain the benefit of both, his life will be at 20 and he will draw 16 cards.
d. Tom will draw himself to death because this combination creates an infinite loop.
Blessed Wind will keep trying to make his life total 20,
which it can’t so he will keep being forced to draw cards by the Nefarious Lich. 32. Bob has a 2/4 creature that has been enchanted with Enfeeblement “enchanted creature gets -2/-2” making it a 0/2.
He also has an
enchantment that reads “if a creature you control would deal combat damage, it deals that damage plus 1 instead.” Bob attacks Tom with the 0/2 creature. What happens? a.
The creature deals 0 damage, but 0 is technically a number, so 1 is added to it, and Tom takes 1 damage.
b. The creature deals 0 damage, and the enchantment’s ability doesn’t count that as damage, so it doesn’t trigger. Tom takes 0 damage. c.
The creature deals 0 damage and the game rules always consider 0 damage to have not dealt anything at all, so replacement effect have nothing to replace. Tom takes 0 damage.
d. Damage is irrelevant. The fact that the creature attacked and wasn’t blocked is all that matters. Tom takes 1 damage. 33. Jeff is at 7 life. He plays a card that says “You lose 10 life, then gain 2 life for each creature in play.” There are 14 creatures in play. What happens? a.
Jeff loses 10 life first, then dies before he can gain anything.
b. Jeff loses 10 life, he is temporarily at 0, then he gains 28 and is at 28, alive. c.
Jeff loses 10 life, he is temporarily at -3, then he gains 28 and is at 25, alive.
d. Jeff can choose to gain the 28 life first since both effects are on the same card, saving him from the loss of 10 life that would have killed him. He’ll be at 25. 34. Bob has no cards in his library, and will die next turn.
However, in an
attempt to prevent death, he plays an enchantment that reads “if you would draw a card, gain 1 life instead.” Would that work?
a.
Yes, even if there are no cards to be drawn, he can still gain 1 life each turn and not draw himself to death.
b. No, since there are no cards to begin with, this effect won’t happen and he will die when he tries to draw next turn. c.
Yes and no, he won’t die from card loss, but he won’t gain life either because there are no cards to be drawn.
35. Tom has a Standstill in play which says “If any player plays a spell, sacrifice Standstill. If you do, each of that player’s opponents draws 3 cards.” Then Bob casts a creature spell, triggering Standstill. In response to that trigger, Bob then plays Boomerang to return Standstill to Tom’s hand.
What
happens? a.
Standstill gets sacrificed before it can be returned to Tom’s hand, and Tom draws 3 cards.
b. Standstill gets triggered twice, once by the creature and once by the Boomerang while it’s still on the stack, so it gets sacrificed and Tom draws 6 cards. c.
Standstill gets returned to Tom’s hand before it can be sacrificed, but Tom gets to draw 3 cards anyway.
d. Standstill gets returned to Tom’s hand before it can be sacrificed, and Tom can’t draw 3 since he can’t “pay” the sacrifice cost. 36. Bob has an enchantment in play that says “whenever a player plays a green spell, that player may put a 1/1 green creature token into play.” Jeff, who is also playing green, plays 3 spells on Bob’s turn, and gets three 1/1 creatures. He doesn’t have anything to use as tokens, so Bob lends him some dice to use as tokens. Then Bob plays two more spells on his turn and puts two tokens in play. As far as game rules are concerned, who is the OWNER of the tokens? a.
Bob is the owner of the two he controls and Jeff is the owner of the three he controls because the spells that triggered them to come into play were owned by Bob and Jeff respectively.
b. Bob is the owner of the two he controls and Jeff is the owner of the three he controls because for tokens, the controller and the owner are one and the same. If Bob gained control of one of Jeff’s tokens, he would assume ownership of it as well.
c.
Bob is the owner of all 5 tokens because he controlled the enchantment that those tokens came from at the time they were created.
d. Bob is the owner of all 5 tokens because he owns the dice that are representing them. 37. A spell says the following: “put a 1/1 red Goblin Scout creature token into play under your control.”
Which of the following are the tokens
characteristics? a.
The token’s name is “Goblin Scout”. It has two creature types, both a “Goblin” and a “Scout”.
b. The token’s name is “Goblin Scout”. It has one creature type, a “Goblin Scout”. c.
The token’s name is “Goblin Scout”. It’s creature type is “Token”.
d. The token’s name is “Goblin Scout”. It has no creature type because tokens don’t have one. e.
The token doesn’t have a name, but its creature type is “Goblin Scout.”
38. Bob has an enchantment that says “whenever a creature goes to the graveyard, that creature’s controller may have target opponent sacrifice a creature.” Bob has several tokens, and Tom returns one to Bob’s hand with a Boomerang, and kills another with a Terror spell. What happens next? a.
Tom must sacrifice two creatures. Since tokens can’t exist anywhere but in play, the token that was sent to Bob’s hand dies instead, meaning two creatures went to the graveyard in total.
b. Tom must sacrifice one creature. The Boomeranged token just vanishes, the Terrored token goes to the graveyard, triggers the enchantment, then vanishes. c.
Tom doesn’t need to sacrifice anything.
Tokens simply vanish when
they’re moved to a different zone, and never reach that zone to trigger any abilities. 39. A 4 casting-cost (2RR) enchantment is in play that has the following ability: “Pay 2 red: Put a 1/1 red Goblin creature token into play.” Creature tokens created by this enchantment have… a.
A casting cost equal to the enchantment’s casting cost. (2RR)
b. A casting cost equal to the ability cost. (RR)
c.
A casting cost of 0.
d. No casting cost at all. (So things affecting casting cost 0 permanents won’t affect it) 40. Tokens are considered “cards”. True
False
41. Bob has many cards with Flashback in his graveyard. Weary of this, Tom wants to see what’s in his Bob’s graveyard and put the Flashback cards on top of it, so he can remember what to watch out for. Is this ok? a.
Tom may look through Bob’s graveyard anytime he likes, but the order of cards in a graveyard may not be changed by anyone.
b. Tom may look through Bob’s graveyard and put the cards in any order he likes, as it isn’t important. (Of course Bob can do the same thing and change the order again.) c.
Tom may look through Bob’s graveyard anytime, but only Bob can change the order of the cards in it.
d. Tom may neither look at nor rearrange Bob’s graveyard.
He must
remember the order himself. 42. What is the requirement for summoning sickness to end? a.
The creature has to be in play, under the same person’s control for a full turn. (i.e. all players have taken a full turn.)
b. You must control the creature at the end of the opponent’s turn who comes before you in turn order. c.
You must have control of the creature at the start of your upkeep.
d. At least one other person must have taken a full turn (from start to finish) since you brought the creature into play or gained control of it. 43. Which of the following is a static ability? a.
An ability that reads, “All your creatures get +0/+2.”
b. An ability that reads, “Pay 2: All your creatures get +0/+2 until end of turn.” c.
An ability that reads, “Whenever an opponent plays a spell, all your creatures get +0/+2 until end of turn.”
d. An ability that reads, “Pay 2: This card deals 2 damage to target player.
Any player may play this ability.” e.
A land’s ability to tap for mana.
44. Which of the following is a triggered ability? a.
An ability that reads, “Pay 3: Draw a card.
Any player may play this
ability.” b. An
ability
that
reads,
“Destroy
target
creature,
it
cannot
be
regenerated.” c.
An ability that reads, “Whenever you tap this land for mana, it produces an additional mana of the same color.”
d. An ability that reads, “As long as you control a Plains, all creatures you control have +1/+1 and first strike.” 45. Bob has a Rushwood Elemental, a 4/4 trample green creature that reads, “At the beginning of your upkeep, put a +1/+1 counter on Rushwood Elemental.” It has been in play for 5 turns, so it has four +1/+1 counters on it.
It is enchanted with Flight, which reads “enchanted creature gains
flying.” Tom removes it from the game at the end of Bob’s turn with his Parallax Wave, which reads, “Remove a fade counter from Parallax Wave: Remove target creature from the game. When Parallax Wave leaves play, return all creatures removed by it to play.” Two turns later, Tom’s Parallax Wave leaves play during his upkeep, and Rushwood Elemental returns. What condition is the elemental in? a.
It returns to play with the four counters it had when it left and the enchantment, so it’s an 8/8 flying creature.
b. It keeps its counters when it gets removed, but loses the enchantment, so it comes back as an 8/8 creature. c.
It loses all its counters when it is removed but keeps the enchantment, so it comes back a 4/4 creature enchanted with flying.
d. It loses everything when it leaves play and comes back as if it were new, a 4/4 creature with summoning sickness. 46. What is the only step of a turn in which instants and abilities cannot be played? a.
The untap step
b. The upkeep step
c.
The draw step
d. The main phase e.
The beginning of combat step
f.
The declare attackers step
g. The declare blockers step h. The combat damage step i.
The end of combat step
j.
The post-combat main phase
k. The end of turn step l.
The cleanup step
47. Bob has a 1/1 flying creature and a 3/3 creature with banding. He bands both creatures and attacks Tom. Tom only has a 1/1 creature. Can he block at all? a.
Yes, but he can only block the 3/3 creature.
The flying creature still
deals 1 damage to Tom. Banding allows Bob to control how damage will be dealt. b. Yes, but he can only block the 3/3 creature. Thankfully, the creatures are banded which means if you block one, you block them all. Bob gets to control how damage is dealt to his creatures though. c.
No, since one of the creatures in the band has flying, all creatures in the band are treated as flying and Tom has no choice but to take 4 damage.
d. Maybe, Bob has the option of giving his 3/3 the flying ability. He must announce that as part of the declare attackers step. 48. When does mana burn occur during a turn? a.
At the beginning of the turn, at the end of the first main phase, at the end of the post-combat main phase. (three times)
b. At the end of the upkeep, at the end of the first main phase, at the end of the post-combat main phase. (three times) c.
At the end of: the beginning phase, the first main phase, the combat phase, the post-combat main phase, and the end phase. (five times)
d. At the end of the main phase and post-combat main phase. (twice) 49. Which of the following is not a mana ability? a.
A basic land’s ability to tap for a mana.
b. A Dark Ritual, a sorcery which reads “Add 3 black mana to your mana pool.” c.
A Lanowar Elf, a creature which reads “Tap: Add 1 green mana to your mana pool.”
d. A Wild Growth, a land enchantment that reads “When enchanted land is tapped for mana, add an additional green mana to your mana pool.” 50. Which of the following uses the stack? (Choose all that apply.) a.
Declaring attackers/blockers.
b. Untapping everything during your untap step. c.
Drawing a card during your draw step.
d. Discarding down to 7 cards at the end of your turn. e.
Static abilities.
f.
Triggered abilities.
g. Turning a card face-up. (such as with morph or phasing). h. State-bases effects. i.
Playing a land.
j.
Mana abilities.
k. Mana burn. l.
Characteristic-defining abilities.
m. Playing a card for its Suspend cost. n. Actions taken due to the option given as part of a static ability’s effect. o. Actions taken due to an option granted by some other effect. 51. Protection from (quality) would protect a creature from all of the following except for…. a.
Being blocked by creatures with that quality.
b. Taking damage from sources with that quality. c.
Non-targeting abilities coming from sources with that quality.
d. Targeting abilities coming from sources with that quality. e.
Enchantment-aura spells with that quality.
f.
Being equipped by things with that quality.
g. Being fortified by things with that quality. 52. When a permanent has the Phasing ability and phases out, and then back in next turn, what happens?
a.
All damage and temporary effects are removed from it when it phases out, but it keeps any counters or enchantments that were on it when it comes back.
b. All
damage
is
removed
from
it
when
it
phases
out,
and
all
enchantments, counters and other effects are removed/discarded when that happens. c.
The card keeps everything when it phases back in, including damage that has been dealt to it up to now and temporary boosts/penalties.
d. The card keeps the damage and temporary effects that it has incurred up to now, but all items attached to it are discarded when it phases out. 53. Phasing in and out occurs when? a.
The untap step.
b. The upkeep step. c.
The first main phase.
d. The combat phase. 54. An equipped artifact with phasing will remember what permanent it was equipping if it phases out, and phase back in still equipped to that same permanent. True
False
55. Phasing in removes summoning sickness. True
False
56. What is the Horsemanship ability? a.
An ability the same as Haste, but with a different name.
b. An ability the same as Flying, but with a different name. c.
An ability the same as Trample, but with a different name.
d. An ability the same as First Strike, but with a different name. 57. Cycling can be countered by a normal counterspell. True
False
58. Bob plays Deranged Hermit which reads “Echo.
When Deranged Hermit
comes into play, put four 1/1 green squirrel tokens into play. All squirrels
get +1/+1.”
The next turn he pays for its Echo cost.
Then, Tom plays
Control Magic, an aura that reads “Gain control of enchanted creature” on the Deranged Hermit. What happens? a.
Tom gains the Hermit and 4 new squirrels come into play when he takes control of it. He must pay the Echo cost on his next upkeep even though Bob has already paid it, or the Hermit will die.
b. Tom gains the Hermit only and no new squirrels are created. He must pay the Echo cost on his next upkeep, or the Hermit will die. c.
Tom gains the Hermit and 4 new squirrels come into play. He doesn’t need to pay Echo again because it’s already been paid.
d. Tom gains the Hermit only. He doesn’t need to pay Echo again. 59. Jeff plays a Blastoderm, a 5/5 creature with Fading 3 and Shroud on his turn during his main phase. When will the creature die? (assuming this is “turn 1” and nothing else happens to it) a.
It will die on his 3rd turn at the end of the turn.
b. It will die on his 4th turn during his upkeep. c.
It will die on his 4th turn at the end of the turn.
d. It will die on his 5th turn during his upkeep. 60. If a spell has an optional additional casting cost, such as Buyback or Kicker, you can’t play it without its optional additional casting cost to see if anyone counters it, and then pay the optional cost after the fact. True
False
61. When can you cast a spell for its Flashback cost? a.
Flashback is an ability so you can cast the spell anytime you could cast an instant, even if the card itself is a sorcery.
b. You can cast a spell for its Flashback cost anytime during your turn. c.
You can’t cast something for its Flashback cost unless it’s your main phase.
d. It depends on the card. If it’s a sorcery, then only when you could cast a sorcery. If it’s an instant, then anytime, and so on. 62. What does the Flanking ability do? a.
It gives creatures that don’t have Flanking that block it -1/-1 until the
end of turn. b. As long as two or more creatures with Flanking attack, they all get +1/+1 per attacking creature past the first. c.
If a creature with Flanking is blocked, its controller may put a creature of equal casting cost or less into play tapped and attacking the same creature that blocked. That creature is sacrificed at the end of turn.
d. The ability will say Flanking X, and the value specified by X is the maximum casting cost of a second creature you can play for free when you play a Flanking creature. 63. Which of the following is not a card “status” category? a.
Tapped/Untapped
b. Flipped/Unflipped c.
In Play/Out of the Game
d. Face Up/Face Down 64. If a Clone copies a face-down card that has the Morph ability, what happens? a.
The clone is a 2/2 creature with no other characteristics, with the Morph ability to become whatever that original Morph card really was.
b. The clone is a 2/2 creature with no other characteristics.
The Morph
ability is not copied so it is stuck as a 2/2 creature. c.
The clone is a normal version (face up) of the card that it copied.
d. The clone is a normal version (face up) of the card that it copied, but its power and toughness is 2/2. 65. Treetop Village is a land that says “Pay 2: Treetop Village becomes a 3/3 green creature with trample until end of turn. It’s still a land.” While in creature form it is cloned. What are the characteristics of the clone? a.
It is a 3/3 green creature with trample that can tap for green mana. It’s permanently in creature form.
b. It is a 3/3 green creature with trample that can tap for green mana. It will turn back into a land at the end of turn. c.
It is a 3/3 green creature with trample that can tap for green mana. It will turn back into a land at the end of turn, thus making it an illegal clone and be destroyed.
d. It will come into play in land form and must be activated to become a creature. 66. Vesuvan Doppelganger reads, “As Vesuvan Doppelganger comes into play, you may choose a creature in play. If you do, Vesuvan Doppelganger comes into play as a copy of that creature except for its color and gains ‘At the beginning of your upkeep, you may have this creature become a copy of target creature except for its color. If you do, this creature gains this ability.’” A Vesuvan Doppelganger comes into play as a copy of Grizzly Bears, which is a 2/2 green creature.
Then a Clone comes into play an
copies the Doppleganger. What are the clone’s characteristics? a.
It is a green 2/2 Bear creature named Grizzly Bears.
b. It is a green 2/2 Bear creature named Grizzly Bears with the Doppleganger’s upkeep ability. c.
It is a blue 2/2 Bear creature named Grizzly Bears.
d. It is a blue 2/2
Bear creature named
Grizzly Bears with the
Doppleganger’s upkeep ability. e.
It is a blue Doppleganger creature named Vesuvan Doppleganger with the Doppleganger’s abilities, so it must choose another target to copy immediately.
67. If through some effect, Tomoya the Revealer (a flipped flip card) becomes a copy of Nezumi Shortfang (an unflipped flip card), what will be its characteristics? a.
It will become an exact copy of Nezumi Shortfang (the unflipped version), and become unflipped.
b. It will become Stabwhisker the Odius (the flipped version of Nezumi Shortfang) and remain flipped. c.
It will become Nezumi Shortfang as far as abilities go, but is considered to be flipped because of its previous state.
d. It will become like a completely new Nezumi Shortfang card, unflipped. 68. If through some effect, a face-down Morph card is turned into a copy of a different face-up Morph card in play, what are the copy’s characteristics? a.
It is still a face-down 2/2 creature, but it gains the ability to morph into
the creature that it’s copying. (losing it’s own morphing ability in the process) b. It is still face-down, but it is copying an already face-up card, so it has that card’s power/toughness, abilities, etc, and cannot be further morphed. c.
It immediately turns face-up and becomes a copy of the creature that it is copying.
d. It remains a 2/2 face-down creature with no chance of morphing back to face-up. 69. Skyshroud Behemoth is a 10/10 green creature that reads “Fading 2, Skyshroud Behemoth comes into play tapped.”
If Bob plays a Clone and
copies the Behemoth, what happens? a.
The clone comes into play, and then becomes the Behemoth, so it is untapped with 2 Fade counters on it.
b. The clone comes into play having already become the Behemoth, so it is tapped with 2 Fade counters on it. c.
The clone comes into play, and then becomes the Behemoth, so it is untapped and has no Fade counters on it.
d. The clone comes into play, and then becomes the Behemoth, so it is untapped and has no Fade counters.
However due to the 0 Fade
counters, it dies. 70. A Clone comes into play as a copy of Alloy Golem. Alloy Golem reads, “As Alloy Golem comes into play, choose a color. Alloy Golem is that color.” The Clone’s caster may choose a new color upon casting. True
False
71. If the Alloy Golem from above is copied by the effect of an Unstable Shapeshifter, which reads “Whenever another creature comes into play, Unstable Shapeshifter becomes a copy of that creature and gains this ability”, what happens? a.
The Shapeshifter’s controller may choose a color.
b. The Shapeshifter becomes whatever color the Alloy Golem’s controller chose. c.
The Shapeshifter’s color is colorless because the color was never
chosen. d. The Shapeshifter’s color is colorless because Alloy Golem is an artifact. 72. An Unstable Shapeshifter copies a Crazed Armodon. Crazed Armodon reads, “Pay 1 green: Crazed Armodon gets +3/+0 and gains trample until end of turn. Destroy Crazed Armodon at end of turn.” If this activated ability of the Shapeshifter is played, what will happen later if it changes forms again in the same turn? a.
The Shapeshifter will lose its bonus if it changes to something else, and won’t have to be sacrificed.
b. The Shapeshifter will keep its bonus and be sacrificed regardless of whether it changes to something else or not. c.
The Shapeshifter will lose its bonus if it changes, but it will still be sacrificed at the end of the turn.
d. The Shapeshifter will keep its bonus if it changes, but it won’t have to be sacrificed later. 73. Bob has an Iron Star which reads, “Whenever a player plays a red spell, you may pay 1. If you do, gain 1 life.” Then Tom plays two Incinerates on Bob. After that Tom casts Grapeshot, a sorcery which reads, “Grapeshot deals 1 damage to target creature or player. Storm (When you play this spell, copy it for each spell played before it this turn. You may choose new targets for the copies.)” All three of the cards Tom played were red, and 2 copies were generated by the Storm effect. How many times can Bob use the Iron Star’s ability? a.
2
b. 3 c.
4
d. 5 74. Bob has Grizzly Bears, a 2/2 green creature, and it’s enchanted with Flight, and aura that reads “Enchanted creature has Flying.” Then he plays Giant Growth on it, giving it +3/+3 until end of turn. Tom copies the Bear at that point. What are the Clones characteristics? a.
A 2/2 creature
b. A 5/5 creature
c.
A 2/2 flying creature
d. A 5/5 flying creature 75. A 6/4 creature with Rampage 2 that is blocked by 3 creatures becomes what? a.
A 6/4 and it deals 2 damage to defending player.
b. A 6/4 and it deals 6 damage to defending player. c.
An 8/6 creature.
d. A 10/8 creature. e.
A 12/10 creature.
76. Cumulative Upkeep: 1 Life means what? a.
“Cumulative” is an obsolete word, just used to mean “every upkeep, pay X or sacrifice this permanent.”
b. You would pay 1 Life your first upkeep, 2 life your second, 3 life on your third (for a total of 6 life) and so on. Failure to pay means you sacrifice the permanent. c.
You would pay exponentially, so 1 life your first upkeep, 2 your second, 4 your third, 8 your fourth and so on.
77. How many cards do you need in your graveyard to have Threshold? a.
5
b. 6 c.
7
d. 8 78. Bob has a Wild Mongrel, a green creature that reads, “Discard a card from your hand. Wild Mongrel gets +1/+1 until end of turn and becomes the color of your choice.” Bob discards a Basking Rootwalla for Wild Mongrel’s ability. Then, since Basking Rootwalla has Madness, he opts to pay its Madness cost (0) and play the Rootwalla for free. Now that the Rootwalla is in play, does the Mongrel still get +1/+1 anyway? Yes
No
79. Fear means that a creature can’t be blocked by… a.
Anything except black creatures.
b. Anything except artifact creatures. c.
Anything except black and artifact creatures.
d. Black and artifact creatures. 80. It is Bob’s turn. He has a face-down Nameless One, which reads, “Nameless One’s power and toughness are both equal to the number of Wizards in play. Morph 2(B)” He pays the 3 mana to turn Nameless One face-up, but in response, Tom casts Incinerate to kill it while it’s a morphed 2/2 creature. When it turns face up, it would be a 5/5 due to all the Wizards in play. So what happens? a.
Actually, Tom can’t do that because morphing doesn’t use the stack and he can’t respond to the morphing ability.
b. The Wizard takes 3 damage from Incinerate and dies before it can become a 5/5. c.
The Wizard becomes a 5/5 because morph abilities always resolve first regardless of the “first in last out” rule. The Incinerate deals 3 but that isn’t enough to kill it.
d. The Wizard takes 3 damage, but then turns into a 5/5 due to morph and is alive. 81. Morph is an ability, so when a creature is played face-down for 3, it is using its ability and isn’t technically a spell, therefore it cannot be countered. True
False
82. Equipment cards can be equipped anytime you can play an instant. True
False
83. Assault/Battery is a Red/Green Split card. If Bob plays the card, choosing to use the red side, Assault, can Tom counter it with a spell that says “Counter target green spell” since half the card is green and it’s technically only one card? Yes
No
84. Bob has Assault/Battery in his hand. The Assault half costs (R), the Battery half costs 3(G). If Tom casts Void, which reads, “Choose a number. Destroy all artifacts and creatures with converted mana cost equal to that number.
Then target player reveals his or her hand and discards all nonland cards with converted mana cost equal to the number” and chooses 1 as the number, what happens? a.
The Assault/Battery has a total casting cost of five, 3(G)(R), so the Void doesn’t find it.
b. Bob gets to choose which side the Void sees, so he will likely choose the Battery half to avoid having to discard it. c.
Tom gets to choose which side the Void sees, so he will likely choose the Assault half to make Bob discard it.
d. Void sees both sides as separate cards and if one side is a matching target, the whole card will be discarded along with it. e.
Void sees both sides as separate cards and if one side is an illegal target the whole card becomes an illegal target.
85. If Bob has Assault/Battery in his hand, and Tom plays a spell that says, “Look at target player’s hand, choose a green card with converted mana cost 2 or less. That player discards that card.” Battery is green, but it costs 4. Assault only costs 2, but it is red. Can this card be targeted by such a spell? Yes
No
86. Jeff has an Infernal Genesis in play which reads, “At the beginning of each player’s upkeep, that player puts the top card from his or her library into his or her graveyard. He or she then puts X 1/1 black Minion creature tokens into play, where X is that card’s converted mana cost.” On his turn, Bob puts the top card of his library into his graveyard for the Genesis’s effect, and it’s an Assault/Battery. What happens? a.
Bob chooses which side to use to determine how many tokens are generated.
b. Tom chooses which side to use to determine how many tokens are generated. c.
The Genesis sees both sides and Bob gets 5 tokens.
d. The left hand side’s (Assault) cost will be used because it was technically the first card discarded. 87. Akki Lavarunner is a nonlegendary creature that flips into a legendary creature named Tok-Tok, Volcano Born when certain conditions are met. If
this card is in Bob’s library and he plays a card that says “Search your library for a legendary card and put it into your hand” can he choose Akki Lavarunner because the flipped version is legendary? Yes
No
88. Bob has a Dingus Egg in play which says, “Whenever a creature is put into a graveyard from play, Dingus Egg deals 2 damage to that creature’s controller” and there are several creatures in play on both Bob and Toms side. On Tom’s turn, he cast’s Obliterate, which reads, “Destroy all artifacts, creatures and lands.” What will happen? a.
Tom gets to choose which objects go to the graveyard in what order because it was his Obliterate.
b. Tom puts all his permanents into the graveyard first, in whichever order he chooses, and then Bob does the same. Creatures put into the graveyard before the Dingus Egg goes will cause their controller to take 2 damage each. c.
Bob puts all his permanents into the graveyard first, in whichever order he chooses, and then Tom does the same. Creatures put into the graveyard before the Dingus Egg goes will cause Bob to lose 2 life each, Tom will be fine.
d. Obliterate says the order on it, so artifacts die first, then creatures, then lands, so both players will be fine since Dingus Egg is the first to go. e.
Dingus Egg sees all the creatures going into the graveyard at the same time as it does, which is enough to trigger its ability. Both Bob and Tom take damage for each creature that goes to the graveyard.
89. Which of the following can get rid of a creature with Indestructible? (Choose all that apply) a.
Reducing its toughness to 0 through -1/-1 counters.
b. Having the player sacrifice the creature. c.
Discarding it from their hand.
d. Using a destroy effect that prevents regeneration. e.
Dealing damage through spells that will remove the creature from the game if they are killed.
f.
Removing the creature from the game.
g. Discarding it from their library.
h. Combat damage. i.
The legend rule.
90. Bob has a Bramble Elemental in play that says, “Whenever an Aura becomes attached to Bramble Elemental, put two 1/1 saproling creatures into play under your control.” Then Jeff enchants it with Control Magic which says, “Gain control of enchanted creature.” What happens? a.
As the enchantment comes into play, it triggers Bramble Elemental and Bob gets two 1/1 creatures before losing the Elemental.
b. As Bramble Elemental becomes enchanted, it instantly changes control to Jeff. Now the game checks for triggered abilities. Jeff gets two 1/1 creatures. c.
As the enchantment becomes attached to the Elemental, the ability triggers and it on the stack. Before it resolves, the Control Magic brings the Elemental to Jeff. Then the ability resolves and Bob gets two 1/1 creatures.
91. Bob has one creature, a Nightscape Familiar which reads, “Red spells and blue spells you play cost 1 less to play.” Then Bob wants to cast a red spell which says, “As an additional cost to play this spell, sacrifice a creature.” The casting cost of the red spell is 3(R). What will happen when he tries to pay for it? a.
The spell will become casting cost 2(R) due to the Familiar’s effect. That cost is locked in and nothing will change it. He must pay 3 and then sacrifice the Familiar.
b. The spell will become casting cost 2(R), but then when he sacrifices the Familiar for part of the cost, it will go back up to 3(R) and he will have to pay 4. c.
He can choose to pay the mana portion first to gain the benefit of the Familiar, and then sacrifice the Familiar at the end to avoid paying more.
d. The additional cost of sacrificing a creature must be paid first, and that brings the cost back up to 4 (3(R)). He must pay the full cost. 92. Bob has four Nightscape Familiars in play (see above). He also has 3 untapped Swamps and 5 untapped Mountains. If he wants to play a Lava Burst which reads, “Lava Burst deals X damage to target creature or player”
for more than 7 points of damage, can he choose a higher number for X and have the Familiar’s ability reduce the cost so that he can play it? Yes
No
93. Bob has an Isochron Scepter, an artifact that is imprinted with a Cabal Ritual, a black instant which reads, “Add 3 black mana to your mana pool. – Threshold: Add 5 black mana to your mana pool.” Isochron Scepter reads, “Tap, pay 2: Play a copy of the imprinted card.” He also has an Onyx Talisman which reads, “Whenever a player plays a black spell, you may pay 3. If you do, untap target artifact.” Bob can potentially make an infinite combo here. What’s the bare minimum he needs to start it off? (i.e. things he needs beforehand, before using any of the cards involved in the combo.) a.
2 mana available.
b. 5 mana available. c.
2 mana available and threshold.
d. 5 mana available and threshold. 94. Bob has a Clone in play that is copying Grizzly Bears, a 2/2 Green Bear creature. Jeff casts Humble upon it which reads, “Target creature loses all abilities and is a 0/1 creature until end of turn. What happens? a.
The Clone is still a green bear creature that is now a 0/1.
b. The Clone becomes a blue bear creature that is now a 0/1. c.
The Clone becomes a blue shapeshifter creature that is a 0/1.
d. The Clone becomes a 0/1 creature with no color, name, type or casting cost. 95. Coat Of Arms reads, “Each creature gets +1/+1 for each other creature in play that shares a type with it.” If someone has three creatures that are all Zombie Goblins, what bonus do each of them get? a.
+2/+2
b. +3/+3 c.
+4/+4
d. +6/+6 96. Bob has a 3/3 creature. He has an enchantment in play that says all his creatures get +0/+2. Then he plays a spell that switches his creature’s
power and toughness until the end of the turn. Having done that, he plays a spell that gives it +2/+2 until the end of the turn. Finally he attacks Tom with it. In response Tom plays Humble on the creature. (see #94) What happens? a.
Bob’s creature becomes a 0/1 which is switched to a 1/0 and it dies.
b. Bob is now attacking with a 0/1 creature. c.
Bob is now attacking with a 1/3 creature.
d. Bob is now attacking with a 3/1 creature. e.
Bob is now attacking with a 5/5 creature.
97. Bob attacks Tom with a 2/2 creature. In response Tom plays a Humble on it, (see #94) making it a 0/1. Later, when blockers are declared, Bob casts Giant Growth on the creature to give it +3/+3. What happens? a.
The Humble nullifies the Giant Growth because it’s an ability, so it’s still at 0/1.
b. The Humble nullifies the Giant Growth because it always sets the creature’s power/toughness to 0/1 no matter what it gains from fast effects. c.
The Giant Growth was played later so the creature is a 3/4.
d. None of the above. 98. Life and Limb is a green enchantment that reads, “All Forests and all Saprolings are 1/1 green Saproling creatures and Forest lands in addition to their other types.” If Tom has this card in play, and then plays a Forest, can he tap it for mana on that turn? Yes
No
99. Bob has a land called Svogthos, the Restless Tomb, in play. An effect that says “Until end of turn, target land becomes a 3/3 creature that’s still a land” is applied to it. An effect that says “Target creature gets +1/+1 until end of turn” is applied to it, making it a 4/4 land creature. Then you activate Svogthos’s ability which reads, “Until end of turn, Svogthos, the Restless Tomb becomes a black and green Plant Zombie creature with ‘This creature’s power and toughness are each equal to the number of creature cards in your graveyard.’ It’s still a land.” while you have ten creature cards in your graveyard. What will that land creature become?
a.
It will be a 10/10 land creature.
b. It will be an 11/11 land creature. c.
It will be a 13/13 land creature.
d. It will be a 14/14 land creature. 100.
(Very Evil) Bob has three enchantments in play and an equipment. The
first enchantment says “All white creatures get +1/+1.” The second reads, “When a creature comes into play under your control, put a +1/+1 counter on it. The third is a Life and Limb (see #98) The equipment card says, “Equipped creature gets +3/+0 and gains Trample. Tom has one enchantment and a creature in play, the enchantment reads, “All creatures have Flying.” The creature is a 1/1 blue creature that reads “Tap: Target creature is the color of your choice until end of turn.” Bob plays a Forest. Then he equips that forest with the equipment. His next turn Bob casts a spell which switches the equipped saproling’s power and toughness until end of turn and attacks with three of his saproling forests, one of which is the equipped one. After declaring attackers, Tom casts a Ray of Command, which lets him untap a creature and gain control of it until end of turn. He targets the equipped saproling forest. After gaining control of it, he taps his other creature to make the saproling white, and in response Bob casts Humble on the stolen saproling. In response to the Humble, Tom casts a Giant Growth on the saproling. There’s a lot of effects at work here, so what are the stats of the saproling right now? Please write your answer. Give all information. Who controls it, what it’s power/toughness, name, type and color are and any abilities it has. _____________________________________________________________________________ _____________________________________________________________________________ _____________________________________________________________________________ _____________________________________________________________________________